Electro Technical Council of Ireland

Please contact if you have any queries with regard to the ETCI Technical Committees


ETCI Technical Committees

ETCI promotes and coordinates standardisation in all branches of electrotechnology in harmony with international agreements and in collaboration with the National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI). This is achieved through the participation of members of ETCI Technical Committees and Task Forces with their counterparts from EU and other countries in the deliberations of the relevant IEC and CENELEC technical bodies to which standard-making is assigned.

ETCI has established seventeen Technical Committees/Task Forces. The work of these Technical Committees/Task Forces is monitored and coordinated by the Technical Management Committee. There are over 200 members on ETCI's committees who contribute their experience and expertise on a voluntary basis. These committees are concerned with the following subjects:

TMC (password protected) Technical Management Committee (Livelink)

IPC (password protected) International Policy Committee

TRGTC (password protected)Training Committee

TC 1 Safety of household and similar electrical appliances.

TC 2 Electrical installations of buildings.

TC 3 Power installations exceeding 1 kV a.c. (1.5 kV d.c.).

TC 4 Switchgear, control gear and associated equipment.

TC 5 Electrical safety and statistics for accidents and fires caused by electricity.

TC 6 Electrical apparatus for explosive atmospheres.

TC 10 Electrical equipment in medical practice.

TC 11 Safety of electrobnic equipment within the field of audio/video, information technology and communication technology

TC 12 Electronic communication systems.

TC 13 Alarm systems.

TC 14 Electric cables.

TC 15 Human exposure to electromagnetic fields.

TC 16 Electromagnetic compatibility.

TC 17 Automation and programmable systems

ETCI's Task Forces, TFs, are established to carry out a specific task normally within a definite time period. The following are the current ETCI TFs:

Photoelectronic Controls Task Force.

Residual Current Devices Task Force

Qualifications of Installation Contractors Task Force